January 2016 News and Updates

News & Updates

January, 2016
Theme of the Month: Education and Criminal Justice

February Log-in2Learn

Gina Wingood, ScD, presents

“Collaborating with Churches to Conduct and Disseminate Evidence-based Public Health”

Tuesday, February 2, 2016, 12-1pm ET
(1pm AT/11am CT/10am MT/9am PT)

You should attend if…

  • you conduct health promotion work with faith based organizations
  • you are interested in HIV/AIDS prevention
  • you are a health professional trying to reach your target audience in non-clinical venues

a7641e4c-3101-46a3-84a6-c1d31d9f2b5f

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

Training Opportunities

related to the theme of the month

73fd274f-b94e-460a-b54f-2fc0321e403b

20th Annual National Health Equity Research Webcast: The School to Prison Pipeline here
Sponsor: UNC Gillings School of Global Public Health
Date/Time: Archived webinar/webcast
Presenters: Anthony A. Perguero, Assistant Professor, Center for Peach Studies and Violence Prevention, Virginia Tech; Thalia Gonzalez, Assistant Professor, Occidental College; Gary Flowers, CEO, Gary Flowers and Associates; Christopher Hill, Director, Education & Law Project, North Carolina Justice Center

Beyond Ferguson: Social Injustice and the Heath of the Public
Sponsor: Boston University School of Public Health
Date/Time: Wednesday, February 3, 2016 8:15am-2:35pm ET
Presenters: Mary T. Bassett, Commissioner, NYC Department of Heath and Mental Hygiene; Cornell Williams Brooks, President of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP); Reverend Jeffrey L. Brown, Founder, Rebuilding Every Community Around Peace (RECAP); Andrea J. Cabral, Former Secretary of Public Safety, Commonwealth of Massachusetts; Nazgol Ghandnoosh, Research Analyst, The Sentencing Project; Leslie E. Harris, Associate Justice, Juvenile Court, Suffolk County,Commonwealth of Massachusetts; Glenn E. Martin, Founder, JustLeadershipUSA; Roy Martin,  Director of Services, Partnership Advancing Community Together (PACT), Boston Public Health Commission; Denise McWilliams, Executive Director, New England Innocence Project; Ronald D. Simpson-Bey, Alumni Associate, JustLeadershipUSA
More information here

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

Resources

    • The January/February Supplement of the Journal of Public Health Management & Practice is focused on Health Equity.
    • Bard Prison Initiative, discussed during the January Log-in2Learn.
    • The Fortune Society‘s vision is to create a world where all who are incarcerated or formerly incarcerated can become positive, contributing members of society (based in NYC).