The Region 2 Public Health Training Center is a partnership of three Council on Education for Public Health (CEPH) accredited schools of public health, including the Columbia University Mailman School of Public Health, Rutgers School of Public Health Office of Public Health Practice, and the University of Puerto Rico Graduate School of Public Health, along with the University of the Virgin Islands Community Engagement and Lifelong Learning Center, and the not-for-profit New York State Association of County Health Officials.

The Center’s mission is to enhance the current and future public health workforce’s ability to effectively deliver the Essential Public Health Services (EPHS) to the populations of New York, New Jersey, Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virgin Islands. Approximately, 25,000 public health workers in state and local health departments provide the EPHS in Region 2. In order to fulfill this mission, the Center works directly with each partner health department to tailor and target its efforts to meet the training needs of workers. Specifically, the Center:

  • Assesses the public health workforce’s needs at each affiliated health department and assists in the planning and development of training programs to meet identified needs
  • Trains the public health workforce through face-to-face and distance-based learning opportunities
  • Arranges collaborative projects for faculty members and MPH students to enhance public health services to medically underserved communities
  • Establishes and strengthens field placements for MPH students in public health departments to ensure the growth and knowledge of the future public health workforce