The first cohort of the Public Health Training Center (PHTC) Program was funded by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) in 2000. Through 2 five-year funding cycles, Columbia University Mailman School of Public Health led the New York New Jersey Public Health Training Center (NYNJ PHTC) in collaboration with the University of Medicine and Dentistry of New Jersey School of Public Health (now Rutgers University School of Public Health) and University at Albany School of Public Health from 2001-2011. As of August 31, 2011, the NYNJ-PHTC ceased to exist under that name, as the three partners received individual grants to work more closely with the public workforce and better tailor training offerings to the populations in their respective target geographic areas.

The organization and distribution of the PHTCs changed over time, as the number of PHTCs increased to 37 in the most recent prior funding period. The New York City – Long Island – Lower Tri County Public Health Training Center was one of these 37, led by Columbia University Mailman School of Public Health and the State University of New York, Stony Brook’s Graduate Program in Public Health, in collaboration with the New York State Department of Health, the New York City Department of Health and Mental Hygiene (NYC DOHMH), and the five county health departments of Suffolk, Nassau, Westchester, Rockland and Putnam Counties. In the 2014 Request for Proposals, HRSA introduced the Regional PHTC organization, with one PHTC in each of the 10 Department of Health and Human Services Regions of the United States. For more information, visit HRSA’s Regional Public Health Training Center website.